Don’t Know Much About Geography?

student globeAmericans, and especially our students, are TERRIBLE at geography.  National Geographic magazine completed a study of 18-24-year-old Americans recently, and the results were devastating.  Only 37% of young Americans can find Iraq on a map—though U.S. troops have been there since 2003.   20% of young Americans think Sudan is in Asia. (It’s the largest country in Africa.), and half of young Americans can’t find New York on a map. Would you like to take a ten minute African geography challenge and see how well you are doing?

Africa is home to 53 countries.  Do you think you can name them all in 10 minutes?  Can you name half of them?  I managed to come up with 20, and I’m convinced that it wasn’t my education that helped me, but praying for missionaries and unreached people groups in church that came to my rescue.  I’m still a little sheepish at only scoring 20, but I’m betting I beat the average.

Are you ready?  As soon as you click this Berkeley website, the clock will start.  Good luck.

Now that you’ve warmed up with Africa, let’s go for the REAL test of geography.  How many countries of THE WORLD can you name in 10 minutes? This was really tough, but I got 94 of the 245 countries (151 remaining). Still pretty awful, but there is the pressure of time involved.  As soon as you click this link, the clock will start. Good luck, world Christians.

21 Responses to Don’t Know Much About Geography?

  1. Matt S says:

    Only got 15, but 3 I knew but I had the wrong spelling, either way not too good

  2. Danielbalc says:

    19 for me. Wish i would hae studied before.

  3. Danielbalc says:

    I’m betting my brother Lance will dominate on all y’all.

  4. Lants says:

    i got 36….

    i think its because i tried to memorize this song

    check it out🙂

  5. itsasecret2u says:

    Hmmm… 24. I only got that many because we had to learn all the countries and their capitals and fill them in on a blank map in 8th grade. But I think the African map has even changed a little since then, perhaps. I was kind of mad that it didn’t give me “Republic of Congo” because it was supposed to be “Republic of THE Congo.” Whatever.

  6. Echo_ohcE says:

    What’s disturbing is not that people can’t find countries on a map, because, well, who cares about that? What is disturbing is that people don’t care about the plight of the rest of the world, despite all the rhetoric about how much we all care about the plight of the rest of the world. We don’t. Not really. None of us do.

    I have been to Africa. I was there when I was in the Marines. You couldn’t pay me enough to get me to go back there. I don’t even want to think about it. I have never in my life felt so absolutely ashamed of myself for a million reasons as when I was in Africa.

    I suspect that this is how most people feel about all the suffering in the world. They don’t want to even think about it, so they pretend it doesn’t exist. One of the many symptoms of this is that people don’t care about what’s going on in the world. What once was on the front page is now on page 3 or 4 in a tiny “world news briefs” section of the paper, while Brittney Spears Shaves Her Head is on the front page.

    This whole world makes me sick. Three cheers for the age to come.

    E

  7. Lants says:

    soooo echo… how many countries did you get??

  8. Echo_ohcE says:

    I didn’t do it. I probably would get fewer than you though.

    E

  9. Lants says:

    oh.. well you should try…

  10. Ok, world Christians, go back up to my original post and follow the new link to A REALLY TOUGH geography quiz that will test your knowledge of the countries of the world in ten minutes. It’s on now!

  11. RubeRad says:

    24 African countries. They were pretty tough — I kept trying to enter “Congo” and “Zaire”, but they only wanted the latest & greatest names! And I can’t believe I forgot Nigeria — and my favorite country name ever: Djibouti! First Africa, and now THE WORLD…

  12. RubeRad says:

    World countries: 87.

    I used most of my time effectively, but got distracted at the end. Missed Djibouti again! Missed a number of other easy ones, like Peru, Belgium, Cambodia, … And I really didn’t take advantage of just seeing a complete list of African countries like I could have!

  13. S. Hanzel says:

    I correctly spelled 78. After time ran out I found all of the ones I misspelled, not to mention the full name, which would have brought my total well over 100. One of these days I’ll remember how to spell Kirg… Kyrg… ummm… Kyrgyzstan.

  14. Lants says:

    94 of the world… but my mind was so into thinking about the world that i left out around 20 of my african countries i named earlier… ohwell

  15. Jessica says:

    Awww man I only got 16 I spent the whole time trying to think of Burkina Faso, because I was right on the border of it when I went to Ghana. I feel so stupid it reminded me of all the stupid people on that new show Are you Smarter than a 5th Grader. Maybe I’ll do better on the world one.

  16. Pablo Honey says:

    21 on Africa, though I watched Yakko’s world right before attempting. I will give the world a shot later…

  17. Lants says:

    time out!!!! I just notice that you said this

    “how many countries of THE WORLD can you name in 10 minutes? This was really tough, but I got 94 of the 245 countries (151 remaining).”

    151 remaining out of 245??? there are only 192 not 245….

  18. Asheley says:

    I got 37 with the African countries test and I actually know where they all are too! But, probably the fact that I have been there five times and lived in South Africa for a year helped. 🙂

  19. Asheley says:

    I got 120 on the countries of the world test. Shocked myself actually!

  20. laura says:

    I was able to get 75. But all of norhtern and central Europe went out of my head, and I don’t know the spellings of the Eurasian countries, or the smaller, newer independent African countries. I don’t know why so many South American and Caribbean countries went out of my head! I think it is the time factor!
    That was kinda fun!
    Jim, remember the big map of the world we had on our wall in the front room? I have to get a new one and hang it up again…it is rather fascinating to discover where in the world a country is and daydream about possibly visiting there…

  21. I know what you mean. Travleling stinks, but being there is fun.

Leave a Reply

