Laughter & Tears in Minnesota

MinneapolisI spent the last week in the beautiful state of Minnesota, visiting friends and family, and participating in the board meetings of Christian Fellowship Union.  Once I get over the initial shock of everyone looking exactly like me, I always enjoy Minnesota.

On Wednesday, I had breakfast in downtown Minneapolis, then drove over the same bridge that would collapse 5 hours later.  That, my friends, illustrates the fragility of life.  My host’s neighbor called, saying that her son drove over that bridge ten minutes before it collapsed.  I have posted more trip comments and video below.

I was on my college buddy, Kerry Liebelt’s, farm when we got word that I-35 was in the Mississippi.  Kerry was planning to take the next morning off and not be live on the air, but he drove in to KTIS and participated in a morning of prayer and comfort.  You can hear Kerry every weekday morning from 9 am to noon on KTIS

 

Pastor John Piper, of Bethelehem Baptist Church, has posted to his blog the words he used when he tucked his daughter into bed the night of the bridge collapse.  You can read his comforting words here

 

Here are the video highlights of my Minnesota trip (including Ray Vigstol, chairman of the CFU board, doing an Elmer Fudd impersonation in the St. Cloud flower garden).  Enjoy…

 

Hell’s Kitchen Breakfast with Gary and Sueli Ost

 

Dinner with Dirk and Pricilla Riveness (and a few of their children) 

Commuting with Kerry Liebelt – from KTIS to his farm

My return to Northwestern College – 20 years after graduatingDinner with Kerry and Kirsten Liebelt 

Hanging out with the Liebelts – part one

 

Hanging out with the Liebelts – part two

 

CFU board meeting clips from St. Cloud, Minnesota (flower garden bonus!)

15 Responses to Laughter & Tears in Minnesota

  1. ben says:

    Jimbino,

    Thanks for the videos. Hey, I’ve noticed you’re embedded video feature that annoying “Click here to activate” thing. You can fix that if you put this in your blog template: http://www.brainfuel.tv/flash-fix-for-latest-ie-update

    Ben

  2. Didn’t really get the explanation. I put all that script at the bottom of this post?

  3. Ben says:

    No, put it in your blog template. At the end, in the script section before the end body tag.

    addLoadEvent(function(){
    theObjects = document.getElementsByTagName(“object”);
    for (var i = 0; i < theObjects.length; i++) {
    theObjects[i].outerHTML = theObjects[i].outerHTML;
    }});

  4. Carl says:

    Cool video. By the way, it’s Culvers, not Carvers. We have a couple here and it’s our favorite fast food place. Tastes like real food and always fresh.

  5. RubeRad says:

    Jim (&I) use free wordpress.com blogs, so we don’t have access to our templates. It is possible to pay $15/year to have control over CSS, but I’m not sure that gives Jim the ability to do what you’re suggesting. Or he could install the wordpress software free at his own hosting site (iglesiabiblica.com?), and have full control over everything. But I doubt either alternative is really an option for him.

  6. RubeRad says:

    And if you’re man enough to be hand-jamming javascript, you should switch to FFox anyways!

  7. Krista says:

    Hey Jim, not sure if you remember me from Living Way, but saw that you were just in MN. Marc, me and the kids just moved up here about a year ago. Marc’s working in Stillwater, MN, and we are living in Western WI. What part of MN are you from?

  8. Yes, Krista, I remember you and the countless games of hearts with your parents. How are they doing? Is your husband still in the car business?

    I lived in Roseville for 4 years as a college student at Northwestern college, but, no, I didn’t grow up there. My parents are both from Minnestota, so I have a load of family there, and vacationed a lot in Minnesota as a kid. My Grandpa still lives in Karlstad, which is in Northwest Minnesota, about 30 miles from Canada.

    Say hi to the family. Thanks for checking in.

  9. danielbalc says:

    Who is Krista? I’m always intrigued by old l-dubbers and there whereabouts.

  10. Krista is Cliff and Darlene’s child. She grew up in Rancho Penasquitos and was actively involved in LWC until she married a military man and moved to Texas. Now, I guess, she is in the Midwest.

  11. danielbalc says:

    hmmmm, still isn’t ringing any bells, i guess this was the times I recognized people by their knee caps only. I’ll have to ask my folks about it.

  12. Krista says:

    Parents are doing great, still living in PQ. Marc is Store Manager of Lowe’s and has been working for them since Lubbock Texas, about 10 yrs or so. Since then we have lived in Oklahoma, Iowa, Missouri, and now Wisconsin. Ended up with 4 kids, they are 6, 7, 11, & 20. Kyle is in the Air Force in Maryland is and doing really well, he met a sweet christian girl at the church he was attending and they will be getting married in Nov.

    Probably no relation but our loan officer was named Lori Ost Wittmer, Ost is probably a popular name around here.

    I listen to KTIS all the time, in all the places I have lived it is the only christian radio station I have come accross that plays good current music.

  13. Alex says:

    DBalc, I think it’s Krista formerly known as Krista Geisler. I maybe wrong though.

  14. Alex says:

    Krista,
    Do you have a nephew named Brandon? I vaguely remember my Mom (Evette Najera) watching him after schools for awhile.

  15. danielbalc says:

    now I get the name but was too young to get the face. oh well. thanks for the help

Leave a Reply

