Obama and Me – The Handshake

handshakeAfter handing my video camera to Trevor, I stepped toward Senator Obama, reached out my hand, and said, “Thanks for coming to South Texas; keep thinking about us.”  As he shook my hand, he responded, “It’s my pleasure; keep up the good work.” 

Only time will tell the significance of that historic handshake, and it was caught on video.

 Local news report

 Another local news report

ON OUR WAY TO BROWNSVILLE 

Late Thursday afternoon I received a phone call from the president of the Hispanic Pastors’ Alliance of McAllen.  “Jim, we have been invited to a private meeting with Senator Barack Obama at 2 pm in Brownsville.  Are you interested?”  “Well, tomorrow we have a couples’ banquet in the evening,” I said, “but I think I can get to Brownsville and back in time.”

By Friday afternoon, I was on my way to Brownsville with Trevor Carpenter, Pastor of Baptist Temple, his associate Danny Price, and good friend, Mike Hall.  The one hour ride went by fast, and, before we realized it, we were pulling into the campus of the University of Texas, Brownsville.

X-RAYED, WANDED AND NAME TAGGED

We were met by an official with a clipboard, who couldn’t find our names on the VIP list.  “Just park up ahead and talk to the guys at the entrance to the student union,” he told us.

After parking and walking a couple of blocks, we were at the security desk.  They again explained that our names were not on the list, but Josefina Rios, the secretary of the Regional Hispanic Pastors’ Alliance, noticed me and said, “Yes, they are with our group,” and waived us through.  After another fun x-ray machine experience and more wanding by secret service agents, we made our way into a small conference room, name tags dutifully pinned to our shirts, where about 150 people were gathered.  Sitting in the 4th row, we were about 10 feet directly to the left of the podium.

The atmosphere in this room was much different that the outdoor rally I had attended one week earlier in Edinburg.  This was a smaller, more intimate gathering, and, though the press was set up on one end of the room with all their cameras, it seemed like any other ecumenical gathering.

A couple of pastors got up and addressed us in Spanish, then Senator Obama’s director of Hispanic outreach from New Mexico spoke to us about how excited the campaign was to meet with pastors and share the Senator’s testimony.  Then we sat for about 30 minutes while the sound technician tried to fix a feedback issue.

THE SENATOR AND THE PREACHERS

Finally, Senator Barack Obama was introduced, and he came in shaking hands along the way, and took his seat.  A Pastor who I didn’t recognize led us in prayer, then State Senator Lucio (who looks like he’s 20-years-old) stepped up to the podium and shared all the reasons he believes Senator Obama to be a good leader.  He also said that, “Barack believes that spirituality also has to do with reaching out to care about health care, etc.”.

Barack Obama speaks to Pastors

When Senator Obama got up to speak, we all stood and clapped.  Everyone was very respectful, but I wondered how many of these pastors would actually cast their vote for him.

Senator Obama began by reading the famous verse in Jeremiah 29, “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”  He then went on to apply that passage to his work of helping people “in bondage” to have hope and a better future.  His delivery was good, his exegesis and interpretation were not so good.

Video Footage from my Fuji Camera

THE SENATOR’S PERSONAL TESTIMONY

“I would also like to share my testimony of how I came to faith in Christ,” he continued.  He talked about not being raised to follow any particular faith, but after beginning work in inner city Chicago, he began to be around lots of pastors, who asked him where he went to church.  “I better get going to church,” he said, “or I won’t be able to work with these preachers!”  So he dusted off his only suit one Sunday morning and made his way to the United Church of Christ.

After attending several weeks, he made a choice (didn’t have an epiphany) to follow Christ and His Word, walked the aisle, and was baptized.  “Now, although I still have questions, I have submitted myself to His will, live for Jesus and follow His commands.”

IMMIGRATION, HEALTH CARE AND WAR

Then he began to talk about immigration issues, health care issues, and his desire to help the less fortunate.  He got lots of applause when he said that “the Bible tells us to care for all people, and especially strangers and aliens among us.”  — I clapped as well.  He was consistent in his support for some kind of border barrier, to stop the drug trafficers and coyotes, even though things got tense with every mention of the word “barrier”. 

He got another ovation when he said that Hispanics have a higher percentage of sons and daughters in Iraq, fighting an unwise war that should be ended.

“I HATE ABORTION, BUT IT SHOULD STAY LEGAL”

The dynamics in the room were strange, because many of us can’t support a pro-abortion candidate, and many Hispanic pastors, though democrats, have supported the Clintons.  He had quite a mountain to climb, and I don’t know if he did.

When he finished his 15-minute talk, he took questions, mostly about immigration, but one pastor did ask him why he wouldn’t defend the most helpless Americans — the unborn.  He clearly was ready for that question and emphasized that he hated abortion.  “There is altogether too much abortion and nobody likes it.”  “But”, he said, “I don’t believe the government has any business getting between a mother and her doctor.”  “People of good faith can disagree,” he said.  He got some applause, but I was not impressed.   I wanted to say, “What about the baby?  What about partial-birth abortion?  What about parental notification?  Can’t you come our way on any of this?”

THE HANDSHAKE

When he finished answering questions, Pastor Cervantes, from Harlingen, closed in prayer.  He prayed, in Spanish, that the Holy Spirit would “filter” everything we saw and heard through the Word of God.”  I smiled.  Pastor Cervantes is a smart man.

Then we were told to stay in our seats, and the Senator would come around and shake all of our hands.  He began making his way around the room toward us.

Senator Barack Obama signs autographs for pastors

After handing my video camera to Trevor, I stepped toward Senator Obama, reached out my hand, and said, “Thanks for coming to South Texas; keep thinking about us.”  As he shook my hand, he responded, “It’s my pleasure; keep up the good work.” 

Video footage of “The Handshake”

FINAL REFLECTIONS

This venue was radically different than the outdoor rally one week ago in Edinburg.  No loud music, no chanting, no banners….nothing.  Just the candidate softly speaking and appealing to pastors.  I am impressed that he wanted to speak to pastors.  None of the Republican candidates came to the valley to meet with us this election cycle.  I am irritated that not one Republican, except a one-day photo opportunity at the river for Rudy, made it south of San Antonio. 

Does this mean he has my vote?  That’s doubtful, but I am impressed with him as a politician and a candidate.

On the way out, I joined with a local priest and we took turns giving one of Senator Obama’s aides an earful on abortion.  “Tell the Senator that until he comes our way on abortion, it will be very hard to support him.”

This Tuesday, Senator Obama will probably lock up the democratic nomination for president.  I believe he will be the next president.  I hope he continues to read the Bible and seek the guidance of God.

Read the Brownsville Herald newspaper report
Read the San Antonio Express newspaper report

40 Responses to Obama and Me – The Handshake

  1. Carl Johnson says:

    Where I disagree with Obama on the issue of abortion is that the right to live is right in our founding federal documents.

    Knowing what I do about politics, these guys practice their “spirituality” speeches and tailor them to their audiences. I don’t doubt he could be a genuine Christian, evangelical or otherwise. However, the test is not in whether he walked the aisle way back, but whether he’s walking faithfully now and how he’s grown since then.

    For me, it’s not enough to give a conversion testimony. Hillary and Barak can both do that. Can McCain? Does it matter?

  2. Steve Fitzpatrick says:

    Jim,
    You never cease to amaze me. Actually shaking hands with the next President of the US! Tomorrow (Tuesday) should be interesting, but I am like minded with you – it seems that he will get the Dem nomination and possibly be the next Pres. What I found interesting was his testimony – which you probably know by now – Hannity is all over it today on his talk show. Well, the next time you see your old bud Obama, say hi for me, and try to stay humble.
    Your friend for life,
    Steve

  3. Echo_ohcE says:

    Obama is the most awesome politician we’ve seen in a long, long time.

    But it takes more than a good politician to make a good president.

    That he thinks making abortion illegal amounts to coming between a woman and her doctor points to a fundamental misunderstanding of justice. And therefore, it makes no sense to elect him to be the minister of justice in our country.

  4. The Blumster says:

    Hey Bro… If I shook YOUR hand, then
    I guess I Shook OBAMA’s hand…
    WOW! the “Handshake” might be
    more powerful than you think!!!
    Next up… Hillary… OUCH

  5. Matt says:

    Perhaps he has misinterpreted another verse,

    “To the weak I became weak, to win the weak. I have become all things to all men so that by all possible means I might get elected President” -I Cor. 9:22 BOV (Barack Obama Version)

    He is smooth though and it seems you have fallen into the Obama trance a little yourself Jim.🙂

  6. Gary Ost says:

    Jim,

    How is that”man-crush” doing? Have you washed “that hand”yet? I noticed you mentioned it is “doubtful” that you’d vote for him, but before you seemed to be adament about the fact that you would NEVER vote for him. hmmmmmm………looks like someones’ starting to warm up a bit to the Illinois senator………….

  7. Deborah Krueger says:

    Dude,
    I’m more impressed that you talk to the Creator of the Universe every day. Deb

  8. I took a really cute girl out for coffee twice when I was single in Poway. I met her at the door of Dave Rudgers house where she was soliciting signatures for some environmental cause and we immediately hit it off. Even though she was an unchurched leftie, and I was a conservative pastor, our conversations were fascinating and enjoyable.

    After the second coffee meeting, however, I stopped seeing her. Though we had a mutual attraction, and she was witty, charming and cute, our world views were polar opposites and I knew the relationship would never succeed.

    Obama is an attractive candidate. His speeches move me. I think he is a capable, charming, intelligent man who’s mind sparkles. But he wants to surrender in Iraq; I want to win. He thinks abortion is a decision between a woman and her doctor; I think we should speak for the baby who can’t yet speak for herself. He would not appoint supreme court justices who would interpret the constitution according to the authors’ original intent; I think he should. He believes in raising taxes and dividing us by rich and poor; I believe in cutting taxes and helping the poor to get rich.

    Sigh…I wish it could work out, but after I cast my vote for Barack tomorrow, just to help bring an end to Hillary’s disaster of a campaign, I will vote in November for the candidate who most shares my world view; sadly, that’s probably the aged John McCain. Political man crush? Perhaps. But I must do the right thing.

  9. Echo_ohcE says:

    If you wanna help McCain, vote for Hilary. Sheesh! Obama would destroy McCain!

  10. Zacattack says:

    What was wrong with a hug Jim? Why just a hand shake? Jim you missed your opportunity to shine and be pounced by securtiy. It would have made for some great press for the church. I can see the headline now. “South Texas Pastor Attacks Obama while screaming, ‘Thanks for coming to South Texas.” Man that would have been good. Yah, hugs are just better all around. Give yourself a hug from me anyway.

  11. So far this morning I have received two automated phone calls. One was from Hillary, reminding me how important my vote is to her campaign, and the other is from a mystery group, urging me to vote against Barack Obama, because “he has promised that his first act as president will be to repeal partial-birth abortion ban and to make pro-choice the law of the land”. Ok, I know he’s not pro-life, but something tells me this is a dirty trick by the Hill-raisers.

  12. Hat tip to Nate Johnson for alerting me to this unfortunate statement by Senator Obama:

    “I believe in civil unions that allow a same-sex couple to visit each other in a hospital or transfer property to each other,” he said, referring to unions that grant all the legal benefits of marriage, minus the name. “I don’t think it should be called marriage, but I think that it is a legal right that they should have that is recognized by the state. If people find that controversial, then I would just refer them to the Sermon on the Mount, which I think is, in my mind, for my faith, more central than an obscure passage in Romans. That’s my view. But we can have a respectful disagreement on that.”

    Ugh. Is Barack saying that Romans is somehow less the Word of God than the Gospels? Is he saying that Jesus tacitly approved of gay unions in His sermon on the mount? This is ignorance, at best, and blasphemy, at worst. Either way, this is not good.

  13. Hillary’s math problem:

    Hillary Clinton may be poised for a big night tonight, with wins in Ohio, Texas and Rhode Island. Clinton aides say this will be the beginning of her comeback against Barack Obama. There’s only one problem with this analysis: they can’t count.

    I’m no good at math either, but with the help of Slate’s Delegate Calculator I’ve scoped out the rest of the primaries, and even if you assume huge Hillary wins from here on out, the numbers don’t look good for Clinton. In order to show how deep a hole she’s in, I’ve given her the benefit of the doubt every week for the rest of the primaries.

    So here we go: Let’s assume Hillary beats expectations and wins Ohio tonight 55-45, Rhode Island 55-45, Texas, 53-47 and (this is highly improbable), ties in Vermont, 50-50.

    Then it’s on to Wyoming on Saturday, where, let’s say, the momentum of today helps her win 53-47. Next Tuesday in Mississippi—where African-Americans play a big role in the Democratic primary—she shocks the political world by winning 52-48.

    Then on April 22, the big one, Pennsylvania—and it’s a Hillary blowout, 60-40, with Clinton picking up a whopping 32 delegates. She wins both of Guam’s two delegates on May 30, and Indiana’s proximity to Illinois does Obama no good on May 6, with the Hoosiers going for Hillary 55-45. The same day brings another huge upset in a heavily African-American state: enough North Carolina blacks desert Obama to give the state to Hillary 52-48, netting her five more delegates.

    Suppose May 13 in West Virginia is no kinder to Obama, and he loses by double digits, netting Clinton two delegates. The identical 55-45 result on May 20 in Kentucky nets her five more. The same day brings Oregon, a classic Obama state. Oops! He loses there 52-48. Hillary wins by 10 in Montana and South Dakota on June 3, and primary season ends on June 7 in Puerto Rico with another big Viva Clinton! Hillary pulls off a 60-40 landslide, giving her another 11 delegates. She has enjoyed a string of 16 victories in a row over three months.

    So at the end of regulation, Hillary’s the nominee, right? Actually, this much-too-generous scenario (which doesn’t even account for Texas’s weird “pri-caucus” system, which favors Obama in delegate selection) still leaves the pledged-delegate score at 1,634 for Obama to 1,576 for Clinton. That’s a 56-delegate lead.

    So no matter how you cut it, Obama will almost certainly end the primaries with a pledged-delegate lead, courtesy of all those landslides in February. Hillary would then have to convince the uncommitted superdelegates to reverse the will of the people. Even coming off a big Hillary winning streak, few if any superdelegates will be inclined to do so. For politicians to upend what the voters have decided might be a tad, well, suicidal.

  14. RubeRad says:

    I would just refer them to the Sermon on the Mount

    Just what passage from the Sermon on the Mount does Obama think advocates civil unions for gays?

  15. Echo_ohcE says:

    Rube,

    It’s probably that bit about looking at a WOMAN lustfully. Jesus made the mistake of neglecting to mention looking at a MAN lustfully. Whoops!

    Of course, if Paul says it, it’s no less authoritative than what Jesus said.

    And oh, by the way, since there are more commentaries written on the book of Romans than almost all the other books of the NT combined, Obama’s judgment that Rom 1 is obscure is way less than accurate.

    And anyway, it’s not like if Rom 1 were taken out of the Bible we’d suddenly have no idea if homosexuality is wrong or something.

    Silly Obama, leave the exegesis to the seminary students!

    E

  16. Matt says:

    Obama is a fraud.

    That is all I have for now.

  17. RubeRad says:

    Yah. Apparently Obama mistook his personal ignorance of Romans for general obscurity.

  18. The problem with politicians, is that they think they can blow smoke and obfuscate about Jesus’ teachings and Paul’s letters the same way they do with their own records.

  19. Clinton had a good night, but she is still toast. The delegate math is insurmountable.

  20. Echo_ohcE says:

    Funny thing though about that delegate math.

    I was watching the Clinton News Network (CNN) last night, and I heard something very interesting.

    It had to do with the so-called super delegates. These people get to make the decision, and the delegate count is only one thing they consider.

    It seems that some think that these people will be asking themselves, “If the entire country voted in one big Democrat-ic primary today, how would they vote?”

    If they begin to get the feeling that many people who previously voted for Obama might today have voted for Clinton, they’ll cast their vote for Clinton.

    How will they get this feeling? From the media and from polls.

    The argument goes that Obama has not yet been vetted. No one has criticized him for anything. According to the Clintons, everyone has been enamored with him, and so he has had a honeymoon with the media. Well, it looks like that honeymoon might be coming to an end, and everyone has started to realize that maybe Obama isn’t the Messiah after all.

    This kind of wishy washy thinking is what characterizes Democrats.

    They epitomize the saying, “Follow your heart.”

  21. RubeRad says:

    If you read the article, you’ll see they also consider superdelegates, and for Hillary to win, an unlikely number of them will have to reverse their committments.

  22. And her delegate math just got worse. It’s over, folks. Now, the only wildcard is how much the Clintons want to bloody up his campaign before he takes the nomination.

  23. Yesterday, for the first time, I actually began to think that McCain may win the White House. In a year that is obviously the democrats to lose, they seem to have a death wish. And who will they have to blame? Once again, the Clintons.

  24. RubeRad says:

    Now, the only wildcard is how much the Clintons want to bloody up his campaign

    I wonder about how she can stay in so long against the numbers in terms of funding! Maybe it’s because she’s still getting propped up by feminists, who are women, and who thus can’t understand the math? OUCH, but you gotta love a good stereotype joke once in a while!

  25. Jerry says:

    I’m sad that I did not get to go with you. However I did see him the week before at Pan Am. Here’s the deal. I detest abortion however I have yet to see the Republicans actually really actively do something about it. Don’t give me the Bush appointed justices argument either. The republicans had 6 years with a republican house, senate, and president. Why weren’t any amendments passed? Why is it that after 6 years all we can say is that Bush appointed 2 justices.

    Here is the simple fact. Republicans get elected because Christians believe that they will do something about abortion. However once they are elected they seem to forget about that.

    Christians know this, the Republican Party is not a Christian Party. It is a worldly political party. Sorry to burst your bubble.

    However, if you elect a candidate on the grounds that he is pro-life then you should expect him to do something about it. If he does not then why would you re-elect him? I do not usually vote republican (although I had to when Bush ran against Kerry but that is another subject) mainly because I believe that they actively deceive the Christian community by claiming to be pro-life and yet there is no evidence.

    I think Christians should focus their efforts not on a legal battle against abortion but in an educational and mainly spiritual battle.

    1. Start trying to convince people that it is a baby and not tissue. Nobody wants to kill babies.

    2. We wrestle not against flesh and blood. Share the gospel with more urgency than ever. The more people that come to know Christ, the less abortionists there will be.

    my 2 cents.

  26. Echo_ohcE says:

    Jerry,

    You’ve got a point. But why vote for a Democrat who’s going to work in favor of abortion when at least a Republican might do SOMETHING about it? Sure, Bush didn’t do MUCH, but he did do something.

    And anyway, abortion doesn’t exist in a vacuum. Someone who is pro-abortion is either too stupid to recognize that a murder is taking place, or too wicked to care. Either way, why on earth would you vote for them?

    Most politicians are more talk than anything else. But at least some of them say something once in a while that makes sense. Usually right around election season.

    E

  27. Echo_ohcE says:

    Hilary wouldn’t still be in it if she didn’t think she still had a chance. The Clintons are more politically savvy than all of us put together. They know something we don’t.

    Perhaps Hilary is trying to force Obama to give her a VP deal.

    Or maybe she thinks she CAN overturn the superdelegates.

    She’s got to have a reason for thinking so. But I think the way Democrats do delegates is stupid. They need to use an all or nothing system in these states, and then the race wouldn’t be so close. They want to give people the impression that it’s REALLY just a popular vote.

    E

  28. Jerry, you apparently missed this HUGE MOMENT, when George W signed a partial-birth abortion ban that Clinton vetoed twice. I don’t mind republican bashing, but let’s give W credit where credit is due. I watched this ceremony live, and cried. God bless President Bush. “Choose life, that you and your children may live”.

    Change on abortion will be incremental. But let’s not elect people who will give us NO CHANCE to reduce it at all.

  29. Ok, I liked the first music video, but this one kind of creeps me out. Seems weird and slightly cultish.

  30. Matt says:

    Our system of government is set up so that it is very difficult for one person to enact drastic changes. This protects us as citizens from someone getting into office and going crazy. It is a good thing.

    These things take time and all we can hope for is having a person at the highest level of authority who is willing to attempt to make changes for the better.

    This will not happen for a few years if the Dems get in. Thankfully they seem intent on screwing up what used to be an easily winnable race.

  31. Jerry says:

    While Bush did sign the partial birth abortion bill that only proves my point that no one wants to kill babies. That bill came to his desk when the Repubs no longer had total control of the house and senate. Christians should spend their efforts arguing the the child is indeed a child even before the point of viability. Except for Bill Clinton vetoing it the great majority of people are completely against partial birth abortion because no one wants to kill babies.

    Here is my other problem. With the exception of abortion and i guess gay marriage there is absolutely nothing I like about the Republican party these days. They don’t help the economy. They don’t help me with my families medical needs. They have absolutely no hope of improving public education. They didn’t help me get through college. They could care less about the poor and are always bad mouthing welfare (which needs to be revamped but they would completely do away with it) How in the world could a Christian support a party that has no desire to help anybody? I just don’t get it.

  32. Jerry says:

    By the way the fact that we can talk about issues that we don’t always agree with and still get along is one of the greatest things about this country. Thanks founding fathers we are grateful.

  33. Matt says:

    They don’t help the economy. They don’t help me with my families medical needs. They have absolutely no hope of improving public education. They didn’t help me get through college. They could care less about the poor and are always bad mouthing welfare (which needs to be revamped but they would completely do away with it)

    Rebublicans SHOULD be standing for limited government (although not always the case these days). I don’t want help getting through college. I don’t want help with my medical needs. I don’t want welfare or other government progams.

    I want the government to stay out of my life as much as possible, to let me keep as much money as possible and to let me spend my money any way I want.

    You seem to be a good candidate for the democratic party except for morality issues!

  34. Echo_ohcE says:

    Jerry,

    You want to know how a Christian could want to vote for a Republican party that isn’t interested in helping anyone.

    I second what Matt said. He’s right. But there’s more to it than that.

    Consider: how does it help anyone to put them on welfare? Now, I understand that some people fall on hard times. We have a way to help them out. It’s called Unemployment. Yep, we’ll put ’em on unemployment until they can find a job, but they have to prove that they’re looking for one. Welfare, however, is vastly different. It discourages a work ethic. That doesn’t help anyone, it only hurts them. It’s not good for them.

    Many of the things that you cited as helpful to people actually aren’t. Socialism is not helpful to people. Look at what happened in Russia. Look at China, Cuba. What more evidence do you need? Socialism doesn’t work. It may look good in the short run, but in the long run, it’ll drive the country into the toilet. That’s why Republicans are against “helping people”. What you call helping people, they call ruining the country for everyone.

    The more people are on welfare, the more you have to pay for it. The more you have to pay for it, the less money you have to pay medical expenses and college tuition…and the mortgage…and going to movies, etc.

    America is a great country, and very prosperous, because capitalism is driven by greed. Let’s be honest. We’re Christians, and we know that greed is a bad thing. But people are greedy. It’s a powerful force in the world. Capitalism harnesses greed, which will never go away, for the common good. It’s a good system, the best system in fact. Is it perfect? No. Is it honoring to God? No. But there is no perfect system. There is no God honoring way to do economics. Socialism doesn’t honor God, and it’s certainly far from perfect.

    Understand that 99% of what you are told on the news and by politicians is a load of crap. It’s all a great big power grab.

  35. Jerry says:

    while socialism does not work especially socialized medicine. that does not help me with the high med insurance i have to pay. while i detest michael moore he makes a point in sicko that insurance companies are businesses and can only make money by denying you coverage. That system does not seem to work either.

    capitalism does not care about people it only cares about money. hmm can a christian be a capitalist then?

    communism is intended to care about people but does not so can a christian be a communist?

    I have a good friend who believes that patriotism and christianity contradict each other. As a man he loves his country but he believe that does not have a place in christianity. While I am not so sure about this I think it is valid point.

    one more thought to discuss, Republicans (christian republicans) always cheer for limited government and yet they are always pushing for government legislation on morality. Maybe the homosexual community just wants the government to stay out of their lives just like you do.

  36. Pablo Honey says:

    “Maybe the homosexual community just wants the government to stay out of their lives just like you do.”

    That’s just the problem Jerry, the homosexual community community does not want the government to stay out of their lives, instead they are intruding upon the government demanding they receive rights that are not theirs. I don’t think we are pushing the government to legislate moral issues just because we don’t agree with killing babies, granting amnesty to illegals, and granting protected rights to gays. The liberals would like the government to have its hand in every part of their lives, because they believe the government is here to serve them, not govern them.

  37. Jerry says:

    do you really want a government that doesn’t serve the people? And honestly as an american what rights do homosexual people want that as citizens of the USA (not as a christian) we can honestly deny them?

  38. Matt says:

    Looks like the skeletons are coming out of Obama’s closet.

    This is a big deal and combined with his inexperience and lack of a stance on the issues could cost the Dems the White House.

    McCain should be able to take advantage of this in the general election.

    …And no I don’t believe that Obama could sit in his church for 20 years and not be subjected to his pastor’s racist\black liberation theology.

    The bottomline is he did hear these things all the time and the fact that he is still a member of the church tells me he believes every word. Scary.

  39. In fact, barefoot running just isn’t with out hazards. I have stepped on a few bees or some type of vicious Australian stinging insect. (By no means saw the critter, simply the stinger it left behind.) There have been a few sticks and rocks but I’ve coped with them. Barefoot running just naturally lends itself to more fartlek i.e. varying the pace randomly for variety. Pace operating (that is dashing up to a tempo the place you might have slight discomfort) appears simpler barefooted.

Leave a Reply

